Welcome to ThugBusters.com!

My Cart:
0 item(s) - $0.00
You have no items in your shopping cart.


Pepper Spray Laws and Restrictions

Below are pepper spray laws and restrictions that we are aware of. You should check locally if you believe pepper sprays may be restricted in your area:


States Where Pepper Sprays are Restricted
(We cannot ship to these states. If an order is placed your order will be cancelled)


New York: New York residents may only purchase defense sprays from licensed Firearms Dealers or licensed Pharmacists in that state.


Massachusetts: It is illegal for pepper spray to be mailed to Massachusetts, but it may be lawfully carried by private citizens. Before it is legal for any resident of the state to purchase the spray, a dealer must obtain a proof of age 18 or over with a valid form of identification. However Individuals between the ages of 15 and 18 must still have a valid firearms identification (FID) card to purchase self-defense spray.  These are very easy to get: you simply request one at any local police station, fill out the required form and provide two separate types of identification. Every FID has a processing fee of $2, and takes about a week to receive.


States Where Pepper Sprays Have Some Restrictions:


Michigan: Pepper spray must not be more than 10% and can be used for self defense. "The reasonable use of a self-defense spray or foam device containing not more than 10% oleoresin capsicum by a person in the protection of a person or property under circumstances that would justify the person's use of physical force."


Wisconsin: Tear gas is not permissible. By regulation, OC products with a maximum OC concentration of 10% and weight range of oleoresin of capsicum and inert ingredients of 15-60 grams are authorized. This is 1/2 oz. and 2 oz. spray. Further, the product cannot be camouflaged, and must have a safety feature designed to prevent accidental discharge. The units may not have an effective range of over 20 feet and must have an effective range of six feet. In addition there are certain labeling and packaging requirements: must state cannot sell to anyone under 18 and the phone number of the manufacturer has to be on the label. The units must also be sold in sealed tamper-proof packages.


NOTE: Pepper Spray is legal in all 50 states, however a number of cities and states have restrictions on sizes, strengths, etc.. If you have a question, it is wise to check with you local city or state attorneys office. Defense sprays should only be purchased by those 18 years of age or older. The above list may not be totally accurate or complete and Self Defense & Security accepts no responsibility for its accuracy or completeness.


Stun Gun & TASER Laws and Restrictions




MASSACHUSETTS COURTS OVERTURNED THE BAN ON 4/17/18. You must have a Firearms ID card (see above) to purchase a stun gun.  Please contact us if you live in Massachusets and would like to purchase a stun gun. 








DENSION / CRAWFORD COUNTY, IA (*According to Sheriff Tom Hogan*) 










ARIZONA: Restricted 

Restriction on sale

1. Sell an authorized remote stun gun without keeping an accurate sales record as to the identity of the purchaser with the manufacturer of the

authorized remote stun gun. The identification that is required by this paragraph shall be verified with a government issued identification. This

requirement does not apply to secondary sales.


Connecticut: Restricted 

We may ship stun guns to your home or to your business.  You may use them for self defense in your home or in your business.  You may not carry them on your person, in a purse or backpack, or in a vehicle. 



District of Columbia Law. DC Code Ann. Title 6, Chapter 23. Firearms Control. Subchapter I. General Provisions 6-2302.

(7) "Destructive device" means:

(B) "Any device by whatever name known which will, or is designed, or may be readily converted or restored, to expel a projectile by the action of an explosive or other propellant through a smooth bore barrel, except a shotgun."

(D) Any device designed or redesigned, made or remade, or readily converted or restored, and intended to stun or disable a person by means of electric shock.

Subchapter II. Firearms and Destructive Devices. General Provision 6-2311. Registration requirements:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person or organization in the District of Columbia ("District") shall receive, possess, control, transfer, offer for sale, sell, give, or deliver any destructive device, and no person or organization in the District shall possess or control any firearm, unless that person or organization holds a valid registration certificate for the firearm.

Subchapter V. Sales and Transfer of Firearms, Destructive Devices, and Ammunition. General Provision 6-2351. Sales and transfers prohibited. No person or organization shall sell, transfer or otherwise dispose of any firearm, destructive device or ammunition in the District except as provided in *** 6-2352, or 6-2375.

SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Washington, DC.


HAWAII: Illegal

Hawaii State Law. Rev. Stats. Title 10, Chapter 134. Firearms, Ammunition and Dangerous Weapons. Part 1. General Regulations. Chapter 134-1 Definitions.

"Electric gun" means any portable device that is electrically operated to project a missile or electromotive force.

Chapter 134-16 Restriction on possession, sale, gift or delivery of electric guns.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person, including a licensed manufacturer, licensed importer or licensed dealer, to possess, offer for sale, hold for sale, sell, give, lend or deliver any electric gun.

(b) Any electric gun in violation of subsection (a) shall be confiscated and disposed of by the chief of police.

SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Hawaii.


MASSACHUSETTS:  See above - legal with restrictions


MICHIGAN: Illegal  Watch for updates

The Michigan Penal Code Act 328 of 1931. Chapter 750.224a Portable device or weapon directing electrical current, impulse, wave, or beam; sale or possession prohibited; testing.

(1) A person shall not sell, offer for sale, or possess in this state a portable device or weapon from which an electric current, impulse, wave or beam is designed to incapacitate temporarily, injure, or kill.

(3) A person who violates this section is guilty of a felony.

SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Michigan.


NEW YORK: 3/22/19 Ban on stun guns and Tasers ruled unconstitutional - no restrictions

On March 22, 2019, Judge David Hurd ruled that the state's ban on stun guns and Tasers was unconstitutional. His order also prohibits law enforcement from enforcing the ban.

Full text of the ruling is available here 

NY Stun gun ban unconstitutional



RHODE ISLAND: Illegal watch for updates

General Laws of Rhode Island. Title 11, Chapter 47. Statute Subsection 11-47-42. Weapons other than firearms prohibited. - (A) No person shall carry or possess or attempt to use against another, any instrument or weapon of the kind commonly known as a *** stun gun ***. Any person violating the provisions of this subsection, shall be punished by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by imprisonment for not more than one (1) year, or both such fine and imprisonment, and the weapon so found shall be confiscated.

SUMMARY: Possession and use of Stunning Devices are banned.


WISCONSIN: Legal with restriction

Under the CCW (Carrying Concealed Weapons) laws, the prohibition against possessing or going armed with an electric weapon does not apply to any of the following:
 A CCW licensee or an out-of-state licensee.
 An individual who goes armed with an electric weapon in his or her own dwelling or place of business or on land that he or she owns, leases, or legally occupies.
Wis. Stat.  941.295(2g).

The prohibition against transporting an electric weapon does not apply to any of the following:
A licensee or an out-of-state licensee.
 An individual who is not a licensee or out-of-state licensee who transports an electric weapon if the electric weapon is enclosed within a carrying case.
Wis. Stat. 941.295(2r).

If you are not specifically allowed to carry an electric weapon (see above) you are only allowed to carry an electric weapon in your own dwelling or place of business or on land that you own, lease, or legally occupy. Wis. Stat. 941.295(2g). You may also transport the weapon if it is enclosed within a carrying case. Wis. Stat.  941.295(2r). The possession or carrying of an electric weapon in any other situations is a felony. Wis. Stat.  941.295(1m).

Electric weapons cannot be sold to persons in Wisconsin who are not law enforcement, armed forces on official duty or persons without a recognized out-of-state CCW license or a Wisconsin CCW license. Wis. Stat. 941.295(2)(d). A violation of this statute is a felony. Wis. Stat.  941.295(1m).

SUMMARY: You need a CCW license or recognized out of state license to legally carry stun guns in Wisconsin. However, you can have a stun gun in your home or business and even carry it in your vehicle if it's in a closed case. The catch 22 is that no one can sell to you if you don't have a CCW license.




CHICAGO: Illegal

Publishers Note: The following jurisdictions require waiting periods or notifications to law enforcement officials before weapons may be delivered to purchasers:

Chicago - application approval/denial for:

(1) Registration : 120 days

(2) Re-registration: e.g., by an heir, 365 days)

SUMMARY: Possession and sales of Stunning Devices are banned in Chicago. (More information required on City of Chicago Ordinance)


ILLINOIS: Restricted

a. In order to possess a Taser or stun gun, an individual must have a valid FOID card, as is currently required for firearms.

b. Sellers of Taser or stun guns must check the buyers FOID card and keep the record of sale for ten years, the same requirements for firearms sales.

c. When a licensed firearms dealer sells a Taser or stun gun, they must request a background check of the buyer.

d. The 24-hour waiting period required for long guns, shotguns, and rifles, will also apply to taser and stun gun purchases.

SUMMARY: Possession and sales of stunning devices are banned in the state of Illinois without the proper licensing